Illini wins All-Big Ten honors


ROSEMONT, Ill. — Fighting Illini men’s golf was recognized by the Big Ten on Wednesday morning (May 4) as the conference announced its annual postseason awards.

Senior Adrien Dumont de Chassart was the unanimous selection for the conference’s highest honor as he won his second straight Big Ten Player of the Year award. Dumont de Chassart was joined in the Big Ten All-Conference first team by a fellow senior Tommy Kuhlin second year Pierce hunting was named a second-team All-Big Ten performer. Kuhl was also named the Illini’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award and head coach mike small won his 12and Big Ten Coach of the Year laurel overall, and his 11and of 13 dating from 2009.

Dumont de Chassart, winner of the 2022 Les Bolstad award with the lowest stroke average in the conference, wins the Illinois program’s 13th Big Ten Golfer of the Year award and becomes the first Illini to earn the award twice since that Steve Stricker did in 1988 and 1989.

Dumont de Chassart, was a unanimous first-team All-B1G selection, his third career all-conference award after a first-team nod in 2021 and a second-team selection as a rookie in 2019. Haskins Award Watch List selection, Dumont de Chassasrt is coming off an individual second-place finish to help lead the Illini to their seventh straight Big Ten Championship at the Pete Dye Course in French Lick last weekend. Following the thrilling championship final, Dumont de Chassart received the Les Bolstad award as the golfer with the league’s best average (70.15), on track to set the program record set last season by Michael Feagles. Dumont de Chassart earned his third collegiate victory earlier this season at the Boilermaker Invitational and placed in the top-20 in 10 of 11 events for the year, including seven top-five finishes. He finished as Illinois’ first- or second-place finisher in all 11 events, pacing the team in six tag team tournaments, and totaled 27 rounds (of 33) tied or better.

Kuhl’s first-team All-Big Ten honor marks the first all-conference selection of his career. The Morton, Ill., native has become one of Illini’s best players, ranking second on the team with a season-long shot average of 71.85, nearly a full shot ahead of his best record of the previous season (72.53) set as a sophomore in 2019. -20. Kuhl was among Illini’s top finishers in three events in 2021-22, second on the team behind Dumont de Chassart. Entering NCAA Regionals, Kuhl posted six individual top-20 finishes, including three third-place finishes at Hoosier Collegiate, Boilermaker Invitational and Robert Kepler Intercollegiate. Kuhl also finished tied for sixth at the Augusta Haskins Award Invitational, posting a career-low round of 65, a 54-hole personal best of 207 (-9). He has totaled 17 of 33 innings on the season at par or better, the third most on the team.

Hunt also earned all-conference accolades for the first time in his career with his second All-Big Ten selection. The sophomore from Hartland, Wis., ranks third on the team with a season hitting average of 72.03, more than a full hit before his freshman season (73.20). He recorded top-10 finishes in six of 11 tournaments, including a tie for ninth in the Big Ten Championship. Hunt won the first tournament of his college career at the prestigious Isleworth Collegiate Invitational in October, posting a career-low single-set score of 68 (-4) in rounds 1 and 3, and finishing with a better total of 54 career holes. of 209 (-7). He ranked second on the team with 18 rounds of par or better.

Kuhl was also honored with the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Students chosen for the Sportsmanship Award are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also have good academic results and have demonstrated good citizenship outside the framework of sports competitions. In addition to his on-course performances, Kuhl is a CoSIDA Academic All-America nominee, two-time Academic All-B1G and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar honoree, and a member of the 202 Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar team.

Fighting Illini will now await field selection for the 2022 NCAA Men’s Division I Golf Championship, which will be released as part of GOLF Channel’s College Central coverage today at 4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT.

The NCAA Regional Championships are scheduled for May 16-18 and will be held at six venues: Traditions Club (Bryan, Texas; host: Texas A&M), OSU Golf Club – Scarlet Course (Columbus, Ohio; host: Ohio State), Yale Golf Course (New Haven, Conn.; host: Yale), PGA National Resort – Champions Course (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.; host: Florida Atlantic), The Reserve at Spanos Park (Stockton, Calif.; host: Pacific), and Jimmie Austin Golf Club (Norman, Okla.; host: Oklahoma).

For more Fighting Illini Men’s Golf news, stay tuned to and follow @IlliniMGolf on social media: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook.


  • Big Ten Golfer of the Year: Adrien Dumont de ChassartILLINOIS
  • Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Ashton McCulloch, Michigan State
  • Big Ten Coach of the Year: mike smallIllinois


first team

  • Adrien Dumont de ChassartILLINOIS
  • Tommy KuhlIllinois
  • James Piot, Michigan State
  • Joe Weiler, Purdue

second team

  • Pierce huntingIllinois
  • Ronan Kleu, Iowa
  • McMcClear, Iowa
  • Ashton McCulloch, Michigan State
  • August Meekhof, State of Michigan
  • Adam Wallin, Ohio State
  • Patrick Sheehan, State of Pennsylvania
  • Cole Bradley, Purdue

Unanimous selections in UPPERCASE

Sportsmanship award winners

  • Tommy KuhlIllinois
  • Ethan Shepherd, Indiana
  • Callum Macfie, Iowa
  • Will Koras, Maryland
  • Charlie Pilon, Michigan
  • Brad Smithson, Michigan State
  • Ben Warian, Minnesota
  • Caleb Badura, Nebraska
  • David Nyfjäll, North West
  • Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
  • Patrick Sheehan, State of Pennsylvania
  • Cole Bradley, Purdue
  • Jack Doherty, Rutgers
  • Robbie Morway, Wis.


About Author

Comments are closed.